TODAY’S SPORTSTAT: Will Loyola, Syracuse join George Mason as only No. 11 seeds to make Final Four?


How does your bracket look?

The NCAA men’s tourney is set with the “Sweet 16.”

Included in the 16 teams remaining in the tourney are four teams who were seeded from 8 to 16. The four: ninth-seeds Kansas State and Florida State, and 11th-seeds Loyola-Illinois and Syracuse.

Will anyone of these four make it to the Final Four? Based on past history, there have been 11 teams seeded from 8 to 16 that have made it to the Final Four since 1979 when the tournament went to the current seeded system.

Here’s a look at the teams seeded 8 through 16 that have made it to the Final Four since 1979.

1979: ninth seed Pennsylvania

1980: eighth seed UCLA

1985: eighth seed Villanova

2000: eighth seed North Carolina and eighth seed Wisconsin

2006: 11th seed George Mason

2011: eighth seed Butler and 11th seed VCU

2013: ninth seed Wichita State

2014: eighth seed Kentucky

2016: 10th seed Syracuse

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp