The Houston Astros punched their ticket to the 2017 World Series with a Game Seven win over the New York Yankees in the American League Championship Series (ALCS).

For the Yankees, it was their fifth deciding game playoff series loss (Game 5 of a five-game series or Game 7 of a seven-game series) since 2000.

The Yankees five deciding-game playoff series losses is second to the Oakland A’s who’ve lost six-deciding game losses this century.

There have been 40 playoff series since 2000 that have gone to a deciding fifth game or seventh game. Following are the number of deciding game series losses for each MLB team since 2000.

6: Oakland
5: New York Yankees
4: Cleveland
3: Atlanta, Washington
2: Boston, Houston, St. Louis, Texas
1: Arizona, Baltimore, Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati, Kansas City, L.A. Dodgers, N.Y. Mets, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, Tampa Bay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *