Tapp-ing into the Numbers: 40 Packers Stats Until Opening Kickoff (No. 22)


Since the 2002 season when the NFL went to four divisions per conference with four teams in each division, the AFC East has been represented most in the conference championship games.

Of course it helps that the New England Patriots, a team from the AFC East Division, has been to the AFC Conference Championship Game 10 times from 2002-16.

In somewhat of a surprise, since 2002 the NFC division with the most teams in the conference championship game has been the South, with each of the four teams in that division (Atlanta, Carolina, New Orleans and Tampa Bay) appearing in the NFC Conference Championship Game at least once since 2002. The NFC South is the only division to have each of its four teams appear in a conference title game at least once since 2002.

Here are the number of appearances in the AFC and NFC conference title games for each of the NFL’s 32 teams.

AFC East
New England, 10
New York Jets, 2
Buffalo, 0
Miami, 0

AFC North
Pittsburgh, 5
Baltimore, 2
Cincinnati, 0
Cleveland, 0

AFC South
Indianapolis, 4
Tennessee, 1
Houston, 0
Jacksonville, 0

AFC West
Denver, 3
Oakland, 1
San Diego, 1
Kansas City, 0

NFC East
Philadelphia, 4
New York Giants, 2
Dallas, 0
Washington, 0

NFC North
Green Bay 4
Chicago, 2
Minnesota, 1
Detroit, 0

NFC South
Atlanta, 3
Carolina, 3
New Orleans, 2
Tampa Bay, 1

NFC West
San Francisco, 3
Seattle, 3
Arizona, 2
L.A. Rams, 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *